It remains New Zealand's most memorable Olympic medal ceremony.

Eight hulking rowers - and diminutive coxswain Simon Dickie - stood lake-side at Feldmoching in their black shorts and singlets.
After the gold medals were placed around the necks of the Kiwi crew and the New Zealand flag was raised, "God Defend New Zealand" was played for the first time at an Olympics.

This crew consisting of Trevor Coker, Athol Earl, John Hunter, Tony Hurt, Dick Joyce, Gary Robertson, Wybo Veldman and Lindsay Wilson has provided the current KIWI 8 with all the inspiration and motivation to repeat their success.